Last updated: 17 Feb 2021



Belgium is a country whose specialities include ubiquitous beers, delicate chocolates, moules frites and Belgian waffles.

Enjoy the many Brussels museums such as the Museum of Ancient Art, the Museum of Modern Art, the Comic Strip Museum and the Museum of the City of Brussels - Maison du Roi. Pay homage to chocolate, which is one of Belgium's best known products, with a visit to the Museum of Chocolate and Cocoa off Brussels' Grand Place, or Choco-Story in Bruges.

Don't miss the highlight of Brussels - the spectacular Gothic Grand Place. Pose for a photograph in front of the famous Manneken Pis nearby, and his less heralded sister the Janneken Pis; both statues hint at the exuberance and irreverence of the ‘Bruxellois'.

Explore Brussels further, with St Michael and St Gudule's Cathedral and the Mont des Arts park, which links the upper and lower parts of the city. And don't forget the elegant Place Royale.
Capital:  Brussels (BRU)
Currency:  Euro (EUR)
Language:  Dutch, French and German. English may be spoken. 
Dialling code from SA:  + 32
Time Zones: UTC / GMT +1 (1 hour behind South Africa)
Daylight Savings Time: From last Sunday in March to last Sunday in October: UTC / GMT +2 (same time as South Africa)
Public Holidays 2021: 

Jan 1; Apr 4, 5; May 1, 13, 24, 25; Jul 21; Aug 15; Nov 1, 11; Dec 25

Side of the Road: Right. For non-EU nationals an international driving licence is recommended.
Best Time to Go: March – May and September - October
Best for: Castles, The Original Spa, War Sites
Plugs: 220 volts AC, 50Hz. Plugs are of the round two-pin type
Drinking Water: Mains water in hotels and towns is safe to drink, but bottled water is very popular with the locals. 
Health: There are adequate and well-equipped medical facilities, however they are expensive and visitors are required to pay for these services. Comprehensive health insurance is recommended.
Customs: Speaking the “wrong” language can cause offence – make sure that you know which language should be spoken. If in doubt, English should be spoken. 
Local Offences / Laws: All individuals are required by law to carry identification at all times. Smoking is prohibited in certain public areas. 
Travel Tips / Warnings: Although credit cards are widely accepted, if visiting a smaller village, be sure to carry cash. 
Duty Free: Belgium is within the European Union. If you are travelling from the UK, you are entitled to buy fragrance, skincare, cosmetics, Champagne, wine, selected spirits, fashion accessories, gifts and souvenirs - all at tax-free equivalent prices.

If you are travelling from within the EU, there is no limit on the amount or value of goods you may import, providing your goods are for personal consumption. Goods imported for commercial purposes are subject to duty and the following guideline amounts are in place to determine whether this is the case:
• 800 cigarettes or 400 cigarillos or 200 cigars or 1kg of tobacco.
• 10L of spirits over 22%, 20L of alcoholic beverages less than 22%, 90L of wine (no more than 60L of sparkling wine) and 110L of beer.

If you are arriving from a non-EU country, the following goods may be imported into Belgium by travellers over 17 years of age without incurring customs duty:
• 200 cigarettes or 100 cigarillos or 50 cigars or 250g of tobacco.
• 4L of wine and 16L of beer and 1L of spirits over 22% or 2L of alcoholic beverages less than 22%.
• Other goods up to the value of €430 for air and sea travellers and €300 for other travellers (reduced to €175 for children under 15).
Prohibited Imports: Restricted imports include firearms, narcotics, plants, animals and their products. Endangered species must be accompanied by a CITES permit.

Travel Alerts

COVID-19 Travel Advisory: All non-essential travel abroad is forbidden. Exemptions and requirements available here:


This Information is intended as a Guideline.

Issuing Authorities

a) Belgian Embassy
625 Leyds St, Muckleneuk 0002
Tel: 012 4403201 Fax: 012 4403216
The visa section at the Embassy in Pretoria has been closed.

b) Belgian Consulate of Johannesburg
3rd Floor, 158 Jan Smuts Bld, 9 Walters Ave, West Core, Rosebank, JNB 2196
PO Box 3431 Parklands 2121
Tel: (011) 912-9611 
Mon-Fri: 08.00 - 13.00 and 13.30 - 16.00
Telephone Enquiries: 08.30-12.30 and 13.30-15.30
Visa Applications: Monday till Friday 08.30 - 12.30 (by appointment)
Telephonic enquiries for visa: Monday till Friday 14.00-15.00
E-mail enquiries:

c) Belgian Consulate of Cape Town 
1 Thibault Square, 19th floor, Corner Long Street & Hans Strijdom Avenue, Long Street, Cape Town
Tel: (021) 419-4690
Telephone enquiries: 13h00 - 15h00
O/hours: Mon-Fri: 09:00-13:00


Cape Town TLScontact Visa Application Centre
Media Quarter, Upper Ground Floor, 2 De Smit Street, De Waterkant
Tel: 012 472 3801
Application hours: Mon-Fri 08:30-13:30 (by appointment)
Collections: Mon-Fri 08:30-16:00

JNB TLScontact  Visa Application Centre  JHB: 
2nd - 3rd Floor, 24 Central Building, Gwen Lane and Fredman Drive, Sandton
Tel: 012 472 3801
Application hours: Mon-Fri 09:00-15:30 (by appointment)
Passport retrieval hours: Mon-Fri 08:30-16:00

Visa Requirements

Visas are required by SA passport holders, but not British P/port holders.

Visas are required by other passport holders. Passengers in transit from Belgium to another country that requires a visa, MUST obtain that visa in advance.

REQUIREMENTS: See General Schengen Requirements and the TLS website.


  • Please note that the Visa On Web should be completed and printed prior to booking an appointment. As soon as your form is validated your VOW application form will be sent to your email address. The form should be completed in capital letters using black ink and must be signed by the applicant in person.
  • PLEASE NOTE All visa applicants will have to apply in person when lodging their application, in order to provide their fingerprints. Children under the age of 12 years old are exempted of fingerprints. However, an appointment still needs to be made to allow for intake time.
  • All travel insurance submitted is to consist of one page and will explicity mention  its compliance with Schengen regulations. All major insurance companies have been contacted and have drafted a one page  Schengen travel Insurance. In the event that your insurance company is not aware of this regulation, please advise them to contact the Consulate/Embassy direct.

• Letter from company in SA & Belgium (stating all costs and medical insurance will be paid for) COMPULSORY.
• NB Please specify if visa is for one or multiple entries. Specify reason & proof for multiple entry.
• Only D visa applicants apply at the Consulate, not at TLS


Visa Processing Time

5-10 working days.

  • Please ensure that visa applications reach the issuing authorities at least 15 days before departure date.
  • Incomplete applications will only be processed after all outstanding documents are received. No on-the-spot Schengen visa will be issued.

Visa Validity

A Schengen visa allows a maximum stay of 90 days within a period of 180 days in the Schengen countries. Belgium must be your main travel destination.

Visa Cost


Tourist visa: EUR80 / EUR40 children 6-12
TLS Service fee: EUR27

* The visa fee, only collectable in ZAR, may change as a result of currency fluctuation.

SA Representative

South African Embassy

Montoyerstraat 17-19

+32 2 285 44 00
+32 2 514 78 03

Travel Health

Compulsory:  None
Recommended Travel Vaccines:  Hepatitis B, Tetanus, Polio